Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe and Brian Lost 7 More Pounds!!!

Lisa’s out of town! You know what that means, Brian gets to eat fish!!!  I love fish. Seafood is one of my favorite catagories of food. Unfortunately, Lisa doesn’t even like me eating it around her. So, I eat it when she’s not around! This Mexican shrimp cocktail is one of my favorite treats when Lisa’s not around. I frequently run to the local taco shop behind her back, but very seldom do I get to make my own batch at home.

Also, weighed-in this morning on the Wii Fit, and I’ve lost 7 more pounds!!! The calorie-counting really seems to be working, so we’re encouraged that we haven’t been weighing all our food on a postal scale for no reason! 🙂

Lisa actually did manage to count her calories on vacation, and I think she plans to everyday. Below is our calorie chart.

  Lisa       Brian  
Salad   50     Wheat Thins   130  
Pretzels   120     Cream Cheese   30  
Red Barron Pizza   663     Shrimp Cocktail   750  
      Crackers   180  
      Bud Select 55   165  
      Jerky   210  
         
         
  833       1465  

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail recipe:

Ingredients:

2 lbs cooked, peeled, deveined shrimp

several shakes of Tapatio hot sauce

1 or 2 large bottles of Clamato

2 cucumbers

3 avacados

1/2 onion

4 limes

First, peel the cucumbers, slice them down them middle, and scoop the seeds out with a spoon. Then, dice all your veggies into small pieces as if for a salsa. Then, cut the tails off your shrimp, squeeze in the juice from the limes, and add clamato to your preference – but at least enough to submerge your ingredients. Finally, shake in some Tapatio and fresh cracked pepper and stir everything together before chilling it in the fridge.

In my Mexican shrimp coctail, I tried using a little V8 juice to thicken it a little, but I didn’t like it as well as if I had used just Clamato. Also, I recommend using Tapatio hot sauce in your shrimp cocktail, but made my with Cholula – as you’ll see in the pictures. Additionally, I used a whole onion in my cocktail yesterday, but I would definitely recommend a half onion or perhaps 3/4 onion. Forgot to de-seed my cucumbers as well. Later, I spoke with a friend of mine who is a professional cook, and he said that it would be better if I had de-seeded the cucumber. It wasn’t bad with the seeds, but I think he’s right about removing them. Four limes worked out fine, but if you really enjoy lime juice in your cocktail – it could take at least a couple more. I did some math and figured that the whole batch was about 2500 calories and about 10 servings worth of food. So, each serving should be about 250 calories. 

 

Leave a Reply

